High Idle/Regen/Load/No load

HappyFamilyVan

Captain Ahab
Ok I am not a mechanic and no one has ever accused me of being the sharpest tool in the shed. But I have been catching up on several years of reading on this forum and I am confused.

I was thinking of retro installing a high idle option as Moby is nearing her 200K turn over and the wife does occasionally regular idle to keep the AC cooling. Texas heat, hot wife… does not mean good time in this case. So my quest began.

There are various opinions about high idling and if the high idle really helps keep the DPF clean because idling is not under load and therefore is not the same as driving at highway speeds which is under load. Highway speeds is what it takes…that is what we are told…running fast and free…that is what is good for Moby… keeps her DPF clean.

I am jealous of Moby cause I like running fast and free too, but I can guarantee wife would not agree. She says I need to stay home and keep it in park and low idle…tells me it keeps me safe and intact while I sleep…says this while she is chopping vegetables…I think there may be a hidden message in her comment… but I digress.

I dare ask….is high idling the same as manual regen? Every video I have seen on manual regen and from what I observed when I was at the dealership…manual regen seems to basically bring the idle speed up to 2K for 15-30 minutes. So, why would installing a high idle with the idle speed set at 2k be any different than a manual regen? Would it not be a good matter of practice to set your idle (using stick or high idle option) to 2K say at least once month after you brought your sprinter up to operating temperature? Seems to be a cheap option than paying a dealer $150+ to do a manual regen for me. Yes wife says I am a cheap date…but who can blame me $150 is a few gallons of diesel.

So am I just not getting it? What is the difference between high idling at 2K for 15-30 minutes versus manual regen?

Happy

D

Deleted member 50714