No DEF warning light

WanderOften

I’m fairly new to the Bluetec engine although not to the forum. I did a search for my query and read a pile of threads but didn’t find anyone with my problem. There a bunch of posts about DEF warning lights and CEL’s but I didn’t find any posts on a lack of the warning light. Quite possible I missed it as the search engine doesn’t always get me where I wanna go.

Anyhow, I have a 2011 Winnebago view on a 3500 chassis with 45k miles on it. Had it serviced last Fall and the shop refilled the DEF then but I haven’t had a low DEF warning light since, and haven’t since I’ve owned the rig. I did my homework before I bought the rig and know the typical refill intervals.

So my question is...if there is a problem in my system(and I’m sure there is!) and I’m not getting the 10 start warnings what are the implications? Am I damaging the engine in any way if my DEF has run dry or is the effect that I’m polluting more than I should but the engine is ok?

Thanks for any help.

Mike DZ

2016 View 24V (2015 3500)
If you are running without DEF, you are polluting more than the vehicle is supposed to. The engine is not affected. There will be more NOx coming out of your tailpipe.

However, MB has worked very hard, at the direction the EPA, to make it impossible to run far without DEF.

Perhaps you should fill your own DEF tank and see how much it takes.

Boxster1971

2023 Sprinter 2500 144wb AWD
What makes you think there is a problem?

- - Mike
2012 Sprinter 3500 Extended converted B-Van by Airstream

D

Deleted member 50714

The Sprinter forum consensus is keep the DEF topped-off and avoid DEF warning light activation.

rollerbearing

Your cab chassis may have the large DEF tank which I recall is around 5.8 Gallons. It's possible you just haven't run it down yet, but you will pretty soon. Consensus thinking is pretty much to keep it topped off.