PDA

View Full Version : Wire connected to brake fuse.


R!ley
09-26-2017, 09:24 PM
Hello, have a curious question if anyone could help.

I removed the fuse panel on the steering column to check for any blown fuses and noticed this yellow wire attached to the brake fuse. Any ideas as to what purpose this may serve? Attached a couple of photos. Thanks!

Tooth Fairy
09-26-2017, 09:32 PM
Unplug it and see what doesn’t work.

ECU
09-26-2017, 09:34 PM
trailer lights?

Aqua Puttana
09-26-2017, 09:47 PM
trailer lights?
My guess too.

Is there a brake controller?

It looks like the yellow wire heads out through the firewall. It is tough to tell with pictures though.

Added:
Be aware that if the yellow wire has been forced into the fuse connector it has likely spread the fuse connector spring tabs. Related to the clip design, removing the wire may result in an intermittent connection.

vic

R!ley
09-26-2017, 10:00 PM
Unplug it and see what doesn’t work.

Nothing happens when I disconnect it. I was hoping this was the reason my immobilizer is preventing me from going into Drive, when I hit the brake the engine dies.

autostaretx
09-26-2017, 10:58 PM
The brake fuse is not powered up when you step on the brakes, it's powered by the "ignition on" circuits.
The brake pedal switch then passes its voltage/current to the rear lights (one set of contacts) and the anti-lock brake controller (2nd set of contacts).
If you don't have ESP, there's a 3rd set of contacts.

That yellow wire could be powering *anything* ... stepping on the brakes gives it a path to ground (through the bulbs and trailer socket).
If your brake light wiring or socket is shorted out (bus bars in a rear lamp unit can break free), then stepping on the brakes may be pulling that yellow wire down towards 0v quite a bit (but should blow the fuse, too).

--dick

One call a/c
09-27-2017, 02:36 PM
Possibly aftermarket alarm - remote start system. Look under dash and or follow wire to location


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

R!ley
09-28-2017, 03:31 AM
I believe my issue is a crank sensor that needs to be replaced - since nothing else points to the immobilizer Start Error. Months of brain waste here, instead of being honest upfront to help one another…while on the road! Please go back to sleep so that you don't hurt someone else!https://sprinter-source.com/forum/images/smilies/bash.gif

autostaretx
09-28-2017, 03:42 AM
To put the smilies into your text, place a colon, the smilies' name, and then another colon
: drool : (without the spaces) gets you :drool:

--dick :cheers:

R!ley
09-28-2017, 03:52 AM
To put the smilies into your text, place a colon, the smilies' name, and then another colon
: drool : (without the spaces) gets you :drool:

--dick :cheers:

Glad you are happy,,,but your web site lacks!

autostaretx
09-28-2017, 10:34 PM
I believe my issue is a crank sensor that needs to be replaced - since nothing else points to the immobilizer Start Error. Months of brain waste here, instead of being honest upfront to help one another…while on the road! Please go back to sleep so that you don't hurt someone else! :bash:
If it runs, but doesn't start, it can be a faulty cam shaft sensor instead of the crank sensor.
Yes, a bad crank sensor will also prevent starting.
(a bad crank sensor will *kill* the engine if it fails once started... a camshaft sensor won't)

Glad you are happy,,,but your web site lacks!
It's not "my" web site, i just play here. (guilt by association?)

--dick