Wanted: Anyone in NJ/NYC area who can lend an eye

Carminooch615

I recently made an ill-decided purchase of a 2006 dodge 2500. Ultimately, I was taken for a ride. I have technical aptitude however I am completely new to sprinters and my shortfalls have become painfully evident. I may need a hand here.

The transmission just started slipping, dropped the pan and there are brass chunks scattered inside the pan among all sorts of other metal bits and shavings. The trans fluid appeared to have never been changed, despite the previous owner telling me that it was regularly serviced (a lie). Also said it was never in an accident (a lie) and that I could get in it and drive it to alaska without issues (a lie).

I know about some of the surrounding shops here, but before I reach out to the local shops that I utilized the search for, I wanted to know if there was anybody who could meet me in the Central/North New Jersey / NYC area and do a once over on my van. I'm having a hard time deciding if my very-pretty-from-a-distance and relatively low-mile van is worth having the transmission sorted out or replaced. Or if due to the random body issues (the roof has seam rust and the rear doors are very misaligned), it cannot be feasible salvaged.

I'm always eager to pay someone cash directly than to take it to a dealership or large shop and this is one of those moments. Forgive me if this isn't the right place in the forum to ask for this help, I'm open to any kind of guidance or to someones very trusted friend-of-a-friend technician.

I am also aware that I could have avoided this situation by doing this prior to purchasing the van, it's evident that I was taken advantage of and the seller was obviously trying to pass this pretty looking basket case off into someone else's hands.

-Carmine

Carminooch615

The van does run and drive, the transmission is on it's way out so if I have to travel a bit to meet halfway, I also don't mind that.

autostaretx

Erratic Member