PDA

View Full Version : Fuel additive

sikwan
11-30-2006, 04:08 PM
I was in Walmart today looking at 0w40 Mobil 1 and decided to peruse the chemical section. I was looking at purchasing some Sta-bil for my motorbike and happened across this...

If I remember correctly, it claims that it cleans fuel injectors and also prevents gelling. Seems like a great idea, but decided to ask this question to the board before I plop down $5 for a bottle.

So what do you folks use in the frozen north to prevent diesel gelling?

I'm a diesel newbie, so be nice to me. :smilewink: Temperatures have been hovering around the 30's lately and I'm headed to 20 degree country this weekend. Brrrr...cold!

Thanks,
Seek

topless
11-30-2006, 04:54 PM
In the northern states, they start selling #1 diesel that won't gell until it gets way below zero. 1 thing I do is put some type of antifreeze in the tank. You can buy fuel anti-freeze, but it's just rubbing alcohol. It absorbs water in the tank and burns it. It will also clean injectors and lower the gelling point.

hkpierce
11-30-2006, 06:09 PM
DC doesn't recommend additives. However, DC does suggest kerosene for cold climates if No. 2 diesel is used.

My 2002 Sprinter manual says in summary:

If using No. 1 diesel - not recommended
If using No. 2 diesel - then

if ambient air temperture is 14 degrees F or below
70% No. 2 diesel
30% Kerosene

if the ambient air temperture is 4 degrees F or below
50% No 2 diesel
50% Kerosene

The manual further recommends putting in the kerosene first, followed
by the diesel, to aid mixxing.