PDA

View Full Version : cluster won't work properly.


VP705
01-23-2009, 06:07 PM
I have an 06 Dodge Sprinter. I replaced the original cluster with a different one. The problem is the ABS light, Check engine light, and some other light are all on! They were not on when I had the original cluster.

Anybody know why they suddenly lit up? What can I do about this?

Thanks.

amauri
01-23-2009, 06:44 PM
I'm new to Sprinters and have a lot to learn but my guess is that the new instruments cluster needs to be programmed or enabled to communicate with the ECU. What about the odometer?

What happened to the old cluster?

sikwan
01-23-2009, 09:00 PM
Why you replaced it and where did you get you replacement?

According to the service manual, there are a variety of instrument clusters floating around.

11357

VP705
02-05-2009, 07:37 AM
I'm new to Sprinters and have a lot to learn but my guess is that the new instruments cluster needs to be programmed or enabled to communicate with the ECU. What about the odometer?

What happened to the old cluster?

How do I program it?

maxzoom
02-08-2009, 03:40 PM
What I understand is you need the DRBIII diagnostic tool (about $7,000) to program it.

Also, anyone correct me if I am wrong, you must have the DRBIII when you replace a transmission, ECU, have a start error and need new keys, and to replace an ignition cylinder.