Auxiliary Battery question

RaZzZzor

'19 144" HR 4x4
Just bought a '16 Crew Van 4x4. Trying to figure out a quick Dry Camping weekend to break-in the new van! My van came with 'Additional Battery Package (X27) which includes Cutoff Relay (E36) and Aux Battery (E28) under the hood.

If I'm parked in a campground (engine off) and I plug some DC comforts (fridge and light) into the rear door and driver's seat cigarette lighter plugs...will I be drawing electricity from the starter battery or the Aux Battery?

I asked the salesman and he said Aux Battery. But reading around this forum, I see there is a 'retro-fit' electrical connection in the driver's seat podium to tap into the Aux Battery.

Sorry for the complete newbie question. Thank you in advance...

Jeff

Claude15

The driver’s seat plug and the rear door plug are the only connections to the auxiliary battery (from the factory). Otherwise, you tie in under the driver’s seat (as shown on other posts).

HarryN

Hi Jeff,

Welcome to the forum.

If you would like to talk Sprinters some time, feel free to drop by.

Harry

wilf0rd

Hi Harry. I live close by and am waiting on a 2016 4x4 High roof maybe in Jan. It's a cargo and I plan to do most of the build. What have you done to your rig?

Thanks
Chino

HarryN

Hi Harry. I live close by and am waiting on a 2016 4x4 High roof maybe in Jan. It's a cargo and I plan to do most of the build. What have you done to your rig?

Thanks
Chino
Hi Chino, thanks for posting. So far I am primarily "preparing" for buying one.

The electrical system upgrades appear to be the big thing that slows people down, so I am building up a parallel auxiliary power system using my dodge caravan as a test mule.

Once this is complete, it should be a relatively easy process to transfer this setup into the much larger Sprinter van.

My big goal is to have enough power to run air conditioning, etc. with the engine off / no generator, even on those hot local days, and I am very close to having this.