PDA

View Full Version : New and Need Advice...

dongcheadle
08-14-2016, 02:02 AM
Hey everybody! :bounce:

A little background:

Van's are where it's at, i've been looking for a camping and roadtrip rig for about 2 months.... probably wasted hundreds of hours at work looking at everything from Eurovans, to Previa's to Aerostars to Coversion Astros/Safari Vans and test drove quite a few too.

Then i hit the jackpot and found a sweet deal on a 2004 Sprinter 2500 Passenger van Low Roof with Rear A/C and ~180K so I ponied up and snagged it.

Just went and had it inspected and smogged in Colorado and it failed, I should have drove it around a bit more before I went there since it was a Church van and had been sitting for a few months (i'm new to diesels, smogging and auto mechanics in general, I'm from Oregon and I've had a Jeep for 8 years that i did all of the maintenance on), but you live and learn :doh:

Anyway, I have attached the shops findings and wanted to get a few pointers from you guys... i'm not scared to do any of the wrenching myself, so I would rather spend the extra $$ and get quality parts to make my van last well into the Economic Collapse :shhh:

My plan is to make it into a Camper RV and live in it by next spring, as i've been forking out rent money every month and it just doesn't make sense to me anymore.

Thanks to anyone who shares their thoughts and opinions, I hope to be as versed in Sprinter Vans in the future as I am at Jeep Cherokees (gotta love torque-y engines that go forever).

:cheers:

-Garrett

Missouri Blue
08-14-2016, 02:48 AM
I'd replace the air filter, but the rest seem bogus without more specific info.

Someone more knowledgable than I will come along and answer.

But, If I lived in Colorado and just bought a Sprinter I'd drive to Linden Engineering near Denver? and have Dennis and his crew inspect it. Dennis is a very helpful contributor to the forum.

autostaretx
08-14-2016, 02:50 AM
"Little old van that only drove on Sundays"?