Hooking up a battery isolator

Blownglass

Well hello all ... I'm working on setting up a battery isolator in my 2006 . I spent an hour or so running the wire from my alternator to my isolator and then from my isolator to my battery . I was impressed with my work till I turned on the engine and noticed the alternator warning light was on . damn it Jim I'm not an engineer (yet) . anyway I'm not sure what the hang up is and why I'm having this issue .if anyone has done an isolator I sure would appreciate some info on how they set it up .
I did get the noco ssd 140 amp isolator. I figured it was the good one so grabbed it .

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

autostaretx

Erratic Member
First, you have to tell/show us *how* you hooked it up.

Where did you get the isolator's coil power from?

Where did you attach to the alternator?
(and, why didn't you just use a tap on the starter battery's PDC?
(drawings and/or photos to verify that what you did is what you drew/intended)

"Doctor? I hurt! Why?" ... requires a lot more data....

--dick
p.s. as a pure guess, since you were (reportedly) messing around at the alternator itself, you screwed up affected the DF connection somehow.
(i.e. the little wire, not the big one)

Last edited:

Blownglass

I did end up taking it all apart and outing it back to original and the light went out. So I didn't mess up the alternator .

ECU

2006 T1n 118 Sprinter
You could do it correctly. There is no need to connect to the alternator. Do you want to be able to use the aux battery to jump start the main battery if you left the headlights on?
If so, you'll need at least 6 to 4 gauge wire
A line from the start battery to the relay, a line from the relay to the aux battery and a connection to D+ to trigger the relay is all you need. The D+ is available under the driver's seat.
These helped me:

Wiring the aux battery- T1N_Retrofit_Aux_Battery View attachment T1N_Retrofit_Aux_Battery.pdf