Key question '08 2500

Leeb17

I'm new to the Sprinter and this forum and have read all the great info on this forum. However, I'm still unsure about replacement key for this rig.

I need another key and fob and want know if I buy a used key and fob, or one of "OE" on Ebay, can these be programed to enter and start the vehicle.

Dealer told me a used key/fob would not work since it has already been programed for another vehicle. New from my dealer is ~ $280 plus $90 for programing.

Can't seem to find a locksmith that knows these things. Gilroy/San Jose, CA based.

Love this rig !

Thanks
Lee
'08 2500, 144"

autostaretx

Erratic Member
There are three separate systems involved:
(1) the mechanical key ...
(2) the RFID chip that permits you to *start* the Sprinter (if your locksmith can "clone" the key, that covers this)
(3) the RKE (Remote Key Entry) system ... the fob that unlocks the doors

"Cloning" a key does not require reprogramming the Sprinter (since the new key is both a mechanical and RFID electrical duplicate of one of your existing keys). But that doesn't give you the RKE function.

In the older T1N Sprinters, it was easy to "introduce" a new RKE fob via a sequence of "turn the ignition, push fob buttons" (handy if a key was stolen, since it would remove the stolen key from the "allow operation" group). But it was a dealer reprogramming operation to introduce a new RFID. (the way MB wants you to do it).

Folks have posted that it's the other way around on the 2007 and newer NCV3 Sprinters...
easy to introduce a new "allow to start" RFID key, but a dealer reprogramming to allow a new RKE fob.
..but i don't have an NCV3, so i cannot say for certain.

Folks like S.O.S. diagnostics can reprogram your ECU and SKREEM to accept new keys, but that requires shipping them the modules (thus disabling your Sprinter).

There is a local key-cutter here in Seattle that claims to be able to cut and clone NCV3 keys (but not T1N's, which surprised me)