Sprinter Conversion Mileage?

LivingtheDream

2009 LTV Serenity
The dealers speak of 20+ miles per gallon. What do people really get?

What do you get in a short wheelbase Sprinter RV Conversion?

What do you get in a long wheelbase Sprinter RV Conversion?

I am just getting into the Sprinter RV world and wanted to know what is real according to the users, not the dealers.

Thank you,

LivingtheDream

boardster

But figure they're asking about a new V-6 most likely, so knock a couple of MPG off that.
Then again if they go with a very basic conversion like I described in their other thread,
your numbers will be just about right even for the V-6

Last edited:

cedarsanctum

re: Member
We have a 2008, V6 Diesel and are averaging 21.6 mpg so far. It is getting better, but we only have 4000 miles on it, so it's a long way from broken in.

Jef

LivingtheDream

2009 LTV Serenity
Wow... Thanks to all who responded so far. I am encouraged that even if the 20+ is off by two to 18 its pretty good given all that you have behind you in these Sprinter conversions.

Now, lets drive the detail even one further... I noticed that the best mileage was on a Freightliner Sprinter... is there a difference between Freightliner and Dodge?

Thank you all, trying to learn as much as I can before I take the dive.... :clapping:

LivingtheDream

rvdriverca

If MPG is the only thing making it a buy or not deal, you do better to see what other things cost B4 you make up your mind. Do a cost comparison between a Sprinter and a Chev. Express van, from buying to let say 100k with the cost of all recommended services and cost per mile for fuel.( diesel cost 0.60-0.80 more per gallon than gas) The Dodge and Freightliner label van's are the same vehicle. Good luck in your choice

BaywoodBill

pre-Yuppiedom
There is no difference in engine, transmission, ... or anything else except the grille and the name on the steering wheel and on the back door and the emblem on the hood.

rvdriverca