6-Volt Auxiliary Battery Conversion

Rock Doc

All,

I just finished a project of about a week of half-days installing two 6-volt Fullriver DC224-6 batteries underhood to replace the stock Group 49 Johnson Controls 100 Ah battery in my 2014 Pleasureway Plateau TS on a 2013 3500 chassis. Here's a detailed write-up of the project, which I wanted to contribute to this forum that has given me a lot of help. (It's my first attempt at attaching a file, so I hope it comes through! If not, I'll try again after I post this.)

View attachment Sprinter NVC 3500 Conversion to 2 6.pdf

I removed the stock battery tray and fabricated my own tray--which now fits beautifully--and it works! I know this isn't quite up to the level of installing LiFePO4 batteries, but I don't have to deal with a new battery management system, I don't sacrifice interior storage space, it totaled about $800 in batteries and materials, and at 224 Ah I've more than doubled my battery capacity--which will give me what I really need for my use. I'm hoping that my write-up will give the level of detail for anyone else to replicate this if desired.

I also did read in one past post that someone found the battery tray RoadTrek uses can be purchased through a RoadTrek dealer for about $200. Given the time and effort it took me to fabricate this, it would probably be worth it to purchase rather than build--especially if time, equipment and skills are an issue.

Rock Doc

Rock Doc

Thanks for the compliment--I tried to be pretty complete so that anyone so inclined could copy what I did.

As it is, I don't really see a reason for me to hang on to either the original factory auxiliary battery tray--nor the original Johnson Controls battery. After all, my garage is about as limited in storage space as my Class B!

To be honest, I haven't really put thought into that just yet. If you're interested, I can be persuaded to part with it.

Rock Doc

Rock Doc