PDA

View Full Version : Current Draw - Instrument Cluster & Front Heater Blower

rafikiwilliams
01-29-2016, 11:29 PM
The past day I've been trying to figure out why my battery keeps dying. Step one complete, but now not sure where to go next. I might get told to use the search for this, but I'm not quite sure what to search for here on the forum.

Here is what I have found. It appears the current draw is coming from the Front Heater Blower and the Instrument Cluster... Any ideas from all you T1N vets?

Combined draw: .281amps

Front Heater Blower (Block1- Fuse21) Removed: .158amps

Instrument Cluster (Block 2 - Fuse6) Removed: .008amps

I'm sifting through the wiring diagrams now to try and make sense of it all. I'm no mechanic or electrician... could take a while. Any help is greatly appreciated!

rafikiwilliams
01-30-2016, 12:02 AM
I should probably add that the vehicle had an aftermarket security/keyless entry installed. This has since been "removed" but there remains some wiring under the dash. Will investigate what is connected down there tomorrow. Thats my first suspect for the instrument cluster draw. No ideas for the Front heater blower

Here is what i traced down with the wiring diagram.

Battery -> Block 1 -> Fuse 21(front heater blower) -> Automatic Temperature Control Module

-> Heater Timer Aux
-> Blow Motor Resistor Block
-> G203

Battery -> Block 2 -> Fuse 6 -> Instrument Cluster

-> Data link connector
-> Airbag control module
-> Fuel Level Sensor
-> Parking Brake Switch
-> Brake fluid level Switch

autostaretx
01-30-2016, 12:08 AM
Is the front fan actually blowing? (i suspect not, since that should take more power)
Perhaps the REST button is stuck "on" in some way?

Somewhere buried deep in Sprinter documentation is that the "idle" load on the Sprinter should be about 35 to 50 milliamps.
0.035 to 0.050 by your numbering.