Ford Transit

katmat

I was checking out the 1500, 2500, & 3500 Transits. The rear springs look the same in all three models. The brakes & tires are the same. Can anyone tell me how they get larger payloads w/ the 2500 & 3500?
Thanks,

Graphite Dave

Dave Orton
I was checking out the 1500, 2500, & 3500 Transits. The rear springs look the same in all three models. The brakes & tires are the same. Can anyone tell me how they get larger payloads w/ the 2500 & 3500?
Thanks,
Believe the springs are different. I split the difference and bought a 2500. Still do not know for sure what is different.

katmat

Believe the springs are different. I split the difference and bought a 2500. Still do not know for sure what is different.
I'm thinking about the 2500 & having a local spring shop beef up the spring if I need to. Which engine & rear end did you go with? Are you carrying much weight in it & how is your fuel mileage? I'm a electrical contractor so I carry a lot of weight & do tow some lifts sometimes.

Thanks,

Graphite Dave

Dave Orton
I'm thinking about the 2500 & having a local spring shop beef up the spring if I need to. Which engine & rear end did you go with? Are you carrying much weight in it & how is your fuel mileage? I'm a electrical contractor so I carry a lot of weight & do tow some lifts sometimes.

Thanks,
Bought the EB V6 because I was seduced by the power. I bought the 3.31 rear but added the limited slip option. I have about 7500 miles and have averaged 16.5 mpg. Started with zero added weight and currently my guess is 600 lbs additional with the partial conversion. Expect final conversion weight added will be a bit under 2000 lbs with all the travel provisions.

Believe if I was an electrical contractor and used van locally I would get the normally aspirated V6 with the Ford recommended 3.7 rear. I would still get the limited slip. Non-turbo has less chance of mechanical issues because there is less "stuff" to go wrong.