PDA

View Full Version : EGR

eldomike
06-17-2015, 05:24 PM
I'm a real newbie when it comes to Sprinters....I just bought a 2003 Freightliner badged Sprinter a couple weeks ago and am trying hard to learn what I can about them...my first of many questions....does my year have the dreaded EGR? Here are a few pics of my engine...

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m245/eldomike/Sprinter/DSCF0034_zpslbcdridk.jpg
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m245/eldomike/Sprinter/DSCF0033_zps6beig4iw.jpg
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m245/eldomike/Sprinter/DSCF0037_zpsxzlnuja7.jpg
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m245/eldomike/Sprinter/DSCF0036_zpsi2cdny72.jpg
http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m245/eldomike/Sprinter/DSCF0035_zpstwqyidkg.jpg

More pics of the Sprinter can be seen here....

http://s106.photobucket.com/user/eldomike/library/Sprinter?sort=3&page=1

surlyoldbill
06-17-2015, 07:54 PM
Dreaded? The 02-03 EGR doesn't last as long as the 04-06 if that's what you mean.
I just put on my second replacement at 240k. The original went to 150k, the first replacement went another 90k. Idling and city driving makes them wear out faster, I believe. Some people get over 300k or more on their original, but they are expediters or other long haul drivers.
Replacement part is $500 if you shop around, and takes 5-10 minutes. Just consider it a maintenance part, like tires. Regular cleanings may prolong life; an oil dripping EGR doesn't mean it's "bad", but a new one won't start dripping for 20-30k miles. There is a little 1/8" hole in the bottom of the top chamber with the plastic cover that allows excess oil to drip all over the engine. The oil is SUPPOSED to be there, the air entering the EGR has oil vapor and is supposed to lubricate things. Don't be concerned about finding oil in the hoses going to the manifold, within reason. I have a suspicion about how they eventually "fail", but need to poke around a little more.