Injector bolt help!!!'

Shortbus906

Ok folks,
Here it is...worst case scenario. Bought a 118 with 197k from CT, not so bad so far, brakes, shocks, belt and alternator stuff, RSN...all normal stuff. I've been a German car Tech for almost 30 years, so no big deal.

Yesterday, little ticking from the engine...then pop!! Open the hood and find #4 injector popped and the hold-down bolt broken. Argh!!! I was really beginning to love my little rig.

So now...options everyone??? I'm reading horror story after story, anybody actually fix this in the vehicle or should I just pull the front end and head, do timing chains, injectors and a valve job?

Has anyone used the Timecert extended length kit? How do I reach Doktor A? To see about the special tooling he's mentioned a few times for doing this repair?

Now...I'm a better than average Technician...and pretty regularly pull a rabbit out of my posterior, and the possibilities of this going wrong scare me to death....really!!! So any suggestions would be appreciated...

Matt

surlyoldbill

A broken bolt can be extracted or drilled out. Worst case scenario is pulling the head of and doing it on the bench; which is just time consuming as far as I know. I drilled mine out and installed a helicoil tens of thousands of miles ago. I know I know, timesert is better, but I had limited time and resources!

lindenengineering

Matt
As a tech forget the timesert dealy, its far too tedious to install in situ!
Cut out as much of the broken tail as you can but don't go down too far ''cos you will puncture the jacket.:thumbdown:

Now thread the hold down bolt hole & sleeve section 7/16th UNC using a cutting then bottoming tap. Shop air clean out the hole.
Now choices; get some threaded bar stock in carbon or M/S and bore out the middle and thread to 10x1 mm.

Cut a screwdriver slot in the end, taper recess for ease of entry of the new hold down bolt and then part off the bar at 1 inch 25mm.