PDA

View Full Version : Caught the black death. Looking for advice.

FFR5445
05-17-2015, 05:31 PM
I noticed a diesel smell in the cabin while driving and also a smell after parking it in the garage. It had been probably 10k miles since I last checked for black death so I pulled the cover this morning. Sure enough, #1 injector has it. :eek: :cry: There is a little bit of crud on the #2 but I think it is just the gunk from #1 making its way over there.

So I search the archives and find out it has the potential to be a cheap repair but could also get ugly. I would prefer to do this repair myself but after reading the writeup (http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16068) I'm not so sure. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I only need a new seal and hold down bolt. So less than $10 in parts. Then I read about the tools required and I get more concerned. Seat face tool (I'd like more info on this), injector puller, long tap, seal remover. I have a lot of experience working on cars, swapped engines, transmissions, done timing belts, head gaskets, tons of brake jobs; but never worked on a diesel and am out of practice. My main worry is messing something up that I can't fix like a busted bolt or cracked valve cover or needing a new cylinder head like some of the horror stories I read up on.

I have a Mercedes dealer nearby but they are a new dealer and I suspect they have very little experience working on the older T1Ns. I could go to Freightliner but they are farther away and transportation would be a problem. I think I'll call both tomorrow just to see what they say. I'll also research some indy shops.

What do you guys think? Leave it to the pros or tear into it?

surlyoldbill
05-18-2015, 12:21 AM
You caught it early, the injector shouldn't be hard to get out at all.