PDA

View Full Version : Help me diagnose small tranny leak - on the road

PortlandSprinterConnection
04-30-2015, 04:06 AM
Hi Fellas,

Just want to preface this by saying I am no accomplished mechanic, but a fairly capable diyer.

Sprinter S really came through for me last week when my tranny went out. The suggestions for silver star transmissions were more than helpful, and Dave even came and gave us a ride somewhere.

I need some help again. The shop got the new tranny installed, and I noticed there was a small leak and informed them, they quickly got back to it and thought for whatever reason it was overful, even though they measured it right the first filling process.

So they drained it, tested, and it looked good and he sent me on my way. I'm two hours south now, in Ventura CA, and I'm noticing a small leak. Ive checked twice, and both times the fluid has been on the passenger side of the pan, and on the back cross member.

Ive had 5 significant things needing repair on this trip, and while I love the idea of the van, I'm getting a little exhausted. :rolleyes::snore:

Is it possible for it be leaking near where the dip stick tube meets the tranny? Coating peeling under that already. Any ideas? Bad quality pics, sorry.

http://s1133.photobucket.com/user/sojourners/library/leak%20sprinter

lindenengineering
04-30-2015, 04:12 AM
Looks like the transmission communication socket O ring leaking.
Not uncommon. A $14 parts which SS should be paying for plus its install.
Install a no brainer.
Dennis

04-30-2015, 04:58 AM
Silver star didn't install it, all automatic transmission did, just to clarify. How do I check it?

surlyoldbill
04-30-2015, 06:08 AM
You might also want to check the pan bolts. Evidently they require a re-tightening after a few hundred miles or so.

lindenengineering
04-30-2015, 12:31 PM
Silver star didn't install it, all automatic transmission did, just to clarify. How do I check it?