NCV3 Rust? (newbie here!)

Pierps

Hi Folks,

Newbie here. Please go easy on me!

My wife and I are getting ready to order a van for use in her freelance wardrobe, hair, and make-up styling business (for TV shows, commercials, print ads, etc etc). It will mostly be used to transport clothes and do make-up and hair when she is working outside of a studio.

We won't be putting many miles on it at all- we're mostly interested in the dramatic increase in the convenience of buying, organizing, and transporting clothing and other gear. Cherry on top is that I'm going to build some simple removable camping modules. It will also be awesome for transporting lumber, etc (I'm a avid hobbiest woodworker/furniture-maker).

We've picked all of the options we want and are getting pretty excited ($50k sticker shock aside).

However, I just started doing some due diligence (aka googling), and I'm disappointed to find so many people complaining about reliability, and in particular, low quality paint jobs. I'm reading about people with NCV3 vans that start showing rust only months after placing them into service. The most common scenario I'm seeing is hundreds of tiny specs of rust the size of pin heads. I see reports of this issue from people in the Pacific Northwest, where we generally do not salt our roads. Doubly disappointing is the lack of accountability the dealerships seem to take for the problem.

I know that angry people tend to be over-represented on the internet. I'm looking for real-life stories from you folks. Am I over-extrapolating this problem, or is this likely to happen to us?

I just can't stomach paying $50k (a significant premium over competing vans) only to have something as basic as rust from low quality paint.

Thanks in advance for your insights!

Peter
Seattle

Last edited:

jmgasior

jmgasior