PDA

View Full Version : sprinter costs

whisky426
05-31-2008, 10:28 PM
Hi, i am a newbie to this forum and i was looking at these sprinters and have a hard figuring out why they are so costly as
it appears that you only get a box van with very little else,what
do you get is a small diesel engine that appears to get reasonably
fuel mileage,but not much else, thank,s whisky426

jdcaples
05-31-2008, 10:44 PM
Hi whisky426,

Welcome to the forum.

Sprinters are more costly for a number of reasons: Importation from the European Union - and its associated labor costs - the weakness of the US dollar, corporate inefficiencies that consumers subsidize and the list keeps going.

What I received for my money - and this is all subjective - was a safer and more comfortable vehicle to haul gear and supplies I typically carry; and I get to this under my terms, not a rental company's terms.

Was it worth it to me? Yes.

Is the cost of a Sprinter really what you need to know, or are you considering a larger picture?

-Jon

SprinterUSA1
05-31-2008, 10:46 PM
Hello whisky,

welcome to this great Forum.
I guess you will have to go back and look at the Sprinter a bit closer. Skip the Price tag and look at the equipment. Yes, it is essentially a Mercedes tin box. You cannot get anything like it on any other full size van available in the US. It is loaded with safety features that may not be apparent at first but are a Piece of mind once you drive the Sprinter. It rides nicely for a commercial hauler. It is quiet, lots of cargo space or ample passenger seating depending what you are after. And yes, it has a "small" engine. It does not tow as much as those gas guzzler V8/V10 but you do not need too. Most of what is being hauled behind the domestic vans fits inside the Sprinter. The rest can be towed easily with the 5000lbs towing capacity of the diesel or gas engine.