PDA

View Full Version : Slight soft "clunk"

Mein Sprinter
12-23-2013, 04:45 PM
Newbie here.

Acquired a 2010 Roadtrek SS Agile Camper.

Don't take me to Roadtrek-it's a Sprinter neverthless. There is a soft slight "clunk" feel when taking off from a stop but does not do the same when slowly rolling and taking off. Any ideas? It only has 8080 miles for a 2010 model! Warranty will cease this coming April :cry:

cheers...

dynaco1
12-24-2013, 03:50 AM
Could be one of the rear calipers is slow to release after letting off the brakes.

FireandIceHVAC
12-24-2013, 12:44 PM
It's the start off assist feature. It's normal. Mine has been doing since new

Mein Sprinter
12-24-2013, 07:11 PM
It's the start off assist feature. It's normal. Mine has been doing since new

Thank you for chimming in. Excuse my ignorance, what is the assist feature.

cheers...

Mein Sprinter
12-24-2013, 07:14 PM
Could be one of the rear calipers is slow to release after letting off the brakes.

Thank you...I'll have to take it to MB for some diagnosis. Still under warranty till April 2014. :frown:

cheers..

FireandIceHVAC
12-25-2013, 10:01 PM
Thank you for chimming in. Excuse my ignorance, what is the assist feature.

cheers...

http://www2.mercedes-benz.co.uk/content/unitedkingdom/mpc/mpc_unitedkingdom_website/en/home_mpc/van/home/new_vans/models/sprinter/sprinter/facts/overview/comfort.0003.html

sailquik
12-25-2013, 10:23 PM
Mein Sprinter,
Not sure that the Start-Off Assist (SOA) feature is your problem unless your Sprinter only makes the soft "clunk" when you are on an uphill grade of > 4%.
Don't think the SOA feature deploys until the angle sensor detects an uphill grade of 4% or more.
Could be, but I've had several NCV3 with Start Off Assistance and have never noticed anything beyond it does not roll back is you ease the brakes off to get underway.
Here's the MB technical description: