PDA

View Full Version : Rumble strip noise

Rvliberty
12-21-2013, 11:51 PM
I have read a lot here about RSN. I may have it but I m not sure. I just had the 40k service so the fluid level should be okay. Mine happens at about 40 mph when accelerating. Question is...can this harm the transmission? What can be done about it?

Alan H
2011 Sprinter 3500 RV

TomLetsinger
12-22-2013, 12:08 AM
My understanding is that RSN happens under deceleration/coasting at moderate speeds. It won't harm anything, just a strange hydrodynamic effect in the tranny fluid. Nothing needs to be done about it unless it bothers you. The fix is effective but does reduce the efficiency of the transmission slightly. My 06 does it rarely so I just ignore it.
Others should correct me if I'm wrong.

MotoRepublic
12-22-2013, 02:24 AM
I have had some decent experience with the RSN. I have a 2006 3500 that started to suffer the RSN at about 130,000.. started as a light vibration and ended up being so bad it would literally shake a drink out of the cup holder!

A temporary cheap fix is pouring a tube of Mr. Tranny's Shudder Fix from O'Reilly Auto Parts in with the transmission fluid. Its like pouring molasses so be patient, you can even see it start to thicken up as it gets warm from the engine. This completely stopped the shuddering for about 5,000 miles and then it was back in gradual form. The second tube did nothing :/

A friend of mine has an 2008 2500 170" and after his started the RSN he was brave enough to try the trick of drilling a hole in a plate on the valve body assembly :o (which he said worked for a while but the noise is back)