Diary of a Wimpy Rig!

bkmdno25

I'm not sure how to start, but I figure I would give my story, which is still ongoing. I hope the fixes to symptoms will help others. Being a big time Sprinter fan is an understatement. I brag on them to whoever will listen.

Quick(I guess not so quick in retrospect) backstory...I am a contracted delivery driver. I started out driving a 1990 Plymouth Voyager and after a couple of years of continual repair, decided to step up to a new or newer van that would make me more money and cost less overall. So, in the summer of 2008, I was stuck between choosing a Chevy Express V6 and the Sprinter. After learning that real life mpg of between 21 and 25 compared to 13 to 17 for the Express, I chose the Sprinter!!! I drive about 320 miles a day which saves me cash on my daily gas bill.

So, I chose an amazing 2006 158WB HR with 13,500 miles, a mere baby. I drove this van until it had 240,000 and the only reason I stopped was when it was totalled when someone ran a red light T-Boning me and flipping the van on its side. This was the 3rd accident(none my fault), T-Boned in the snow and Rear-ended on the Freeway(Crazy Situation).

The only problems I had were the Turbo Resonator, Turbo Hose(both while under warranty), Water Pump, and an Air Temperature Sensor. As, you see, this is why I am a firm believer and am one of the lucky ones.

bkmdno25

My 2nd Van...A 2005 158WB HR with 198,000. This one is still in use with 248k has had Turbo Resonator, Turbo Hose, Radiator, Water Pump, A case of black death(Thanks to this forum easily taken care of with new copper gaskets), and now I suspect an injector or two starting to get plugged up.