PDA

View Full Version : Best place for leather Captain's Chairs...

NetDoc
10-08-2013, 11:58 PM
I dive for a living, which means I am often getting into drive while being wet or very, very damp. Cloth seats start to stink after a while, and frankly these OE seats are a bit tired. I want to get a couple of leather covered captain's chairs, but Amazon and Google are only giving me expensive options. Heated seats are nice when you're chilled from diving, but I don't need anything else other than it being leather.

What did you put in, how much did it cost and where can I get it?

Tom9054
10-09-2013, 12:54 AM
Just bought some swivels from these guys, not sure that's a recommendation.
Google rv salvage, there are others round the country.
http://www.rvpartsnation.com/product/224/flexsteel-252-busr-captains-chair

pfflyer
10-09-2013, 01:06 AM
Some Upholstery shops can re-do your existing frames with new padding and wrap it leather for you.

NetDoc
10-09-2013, 01:57 AM
Some Upholstery shops can re-do your existing frames with new padding and wrap it leather for you. These OE seats just need to go. I want something in a blue leather.

Aqua Puttana
10-09-2013, 01:29 PM
Why blue? Aren't the OEM colors gray?

Anyway, there have been a few threads/posts here where people have installed other brand van seats. It takes some adaptation of the seat base, but from your other posts you should be up to that no problem.

In my situation I'd be checking wreckers (better word than "scrap yard" even here in the USA) for conversion van seats. If money is plentiful then I'm certain there are many new conversion supplier possibilities.

We liked the comfort of our 1994 Dodge Ram Van seats as compared to our 1987 and 2001 same model seats. I'd think that they would be scarce in leather though. Have fun. vic

NetDoc
10-09-2013, 01:41 PM
I would love to pull the seats out of my Honda Ridgeline. I think I'm going to find out where she ended up.