PDA

View Full Version : Major Fuel Leak While running

jefjonsin
09-28-2013, 03:16 PM
Hi,

The other day I had a blow out and was towed on a flat bed truck to a tire center. The morning I turned the van on to drive it into the tire place from there parking lot fuel started leaking while it was running. After allowing the tire center to install my new tires I drove the van to a car wash to clean the engine and start from there on my search for the leak. After allowing the engine to cool, cleaning the engine, and running it again I couldn't locate the leak. When the engine is running enough fuel is coming out that it is splashing off the belt and fuel is being thrown about the engine compartment. It is coming out at a rate that it is pouring our from under the van while its running. Any help would be appreciated. I am technically inclined and have installed a fuel filter and other items. Any ideas as to what could be the culprit would be appreciated. I am a touring artist who must be in Phili tonight for a booked show. I also check the injectors (i think and it doesn't seem to be leaking from there.) How could this much fuel leak while the van is running? Ahh, The van emits more smoke than normal and has an odd smell in the cab other than diesel. Kind of like a burnt electronic smell. I'm clueless and I need of any suggestions you may have. I am willing to drop this thing off at a good mechanic but need to be pointed in the right direction. If I knew I could make it to Pittsburgh I'd drive straight to Andy. My baby needs to meet the Doktor.

If anyone knows of a good sprinter tech in NJ please recommend.

Cheers,

pfflyer
09-28-2013, 03:48 PM
Plastic lines from the filter to the high pressure pump and the clips that attach them have been the culprit of my o2 leak. Wrap paper towels around the lines where they connect to the high pressure pump to see if that is where your leak is coming from. Not sure if your year model is the same or not.

bc339
09-28-2013, 03:52 PM