2002 2500 won't start

justinglory

I just bought a 2002 that's been at the painters sitting for two months.The truck was a good runner with no starting issues. When they moved it this morning, it started right up, ran for 30 seconds and shut down. It will now crank but wont start, even on the engine start mode of a shop charger. I'm new to this vehicle and diesels, so I'm not really sure where to start troubleshooting. One thing that I did notice is that the preheating light stays on. The fuel pump seems to be pumping, although there are visible bubbles in the line. The tank is holding approximately 1/4 tank. Any ideas?

surlyoldbill

Air in the fuel lines would be my guess. On a 2002, you'll have to crank it for a while, over 30 seconds. THAT could drain the battery, which will cause a non-start for different reasons; you need certain RPM from starter before ECU will allow engine to run.

NelsonSprinter

Former Nelson BC Sprinter
Air in the line is usually caused by a leak at one of the 5-7 joins at the fuel filter.
Sitting 2 months may have dried out the O-rings or shrunk them at the fuel filter, so easiest 1st thing to do is charge the battery while you go get a replacement fuel filter designed for 2002-2003 Sprinters only.
Also check the connections of the fuel lines to make sure the white retaining clips are pulled away from the connectors as in this picture, and all hose clamps are tight.
The glow plug light is not the cause of the engine stopping or bubbles.

Attachments

Last edited:

1dzmotard