PDA

View Full Version : NCV3 DPF Blocked

Dieselhawk
08-13-2013, 02:12 PM
Hi Guys,
I have a 2008 311CDI with approx. 110,000km on the clock. Its never missed a beat up until last week when I noticed a miss on hard acceleration and it stalled twice, funnily enough both times as I pulled into the Mercedes dealer to pick up parts for another vehicle (I am a diesel mechanic myself). I noticed it was down on power and it brought the check engine light on. It slowly got worse over a day or so until I took off the next morning and it was totally gutless to the point that I had to pull over and get towed. It now had the check engine light flashing. I replaced the fuel filter but made no difference.
It has now been in the Merc dealer for 4 days. I decided to take it straight there as I didn't have the software required or anything that would read the codes. I work on bigger stuff Detroit, Cat, Cummins etc
First I was told the only relevant stored code was low boost or similar.
They thought I had put biodiesel or some poor quality diesel in (which I hadn't) so they replaced the fuel in the tank but this made no difference.
When I called this morning they now tell me the only active code is relating to the DPF but this wouldn't cause the problem. This sounded a bit funny to me so I did a quick search and found this

Below are some of the most common problems when the dpf fails on a Mercedes Sprinter.
Loss of power / no throttle response
Engine/DPF warning lights on dash
Poor fuel consumption
Hard to start and slow pickup speed
Limp mode (wont rev over 3000rpm)
Engine starts and cuts out
Engine fails to starts

I have all these symptoms bar the poor economy and failing to start. Since then they disconnected the DPF and the engine now runs fine in the shop. But they still say they don't know if its the DPF or Cat so are removing one off another vehicle to try it.