Which Sprinter to Buy??

kennneee

I apologize in advance if this topic has been beat to death in the past. I am new to Sprinters and need a bit of guidance. I currently drive a Toyota Tacoma pick up which has been a fabulous vehicle. My wife and I do a lot of travel in the Winter to escape the Canadian cold weather and have decided we need a different vehicle to haul our stuff and to be able to sleep in. I don't want an large RV and need to have a vehicle that can also be used to haul the occasional sheet of plywood etc. I have been a boat builder for most of my life so I am not daunted by building an interior in an unfinished vehicle. I can do a lot of maintenance myself and that will be a consideration when picking which series Sprinter I should buy.
I have been told that a 2006 would be the year to look for, but I am sure there are other opinions on that. The 118" or 140" wheel base seems to be in the size range that makes sense for our needs. I have never seen a 118" in person, so I don't have a sense of it's size. As far as the price range, we can be flexible. Since I am just staring to figure all of this out, all input is greatly appreciated. THANKS!

Ken

autostaretx

Erratic Member
I have never seen a 118" in person, so I don't have a sense of it's size
The 118" WB body length is 16 feet... with the step bumper added, it's 16' 6"
Which is very close to the length of a same-year Toyota Tundra. (if i recall correctly)
But the Sprinter can turn far tighter circles...
Flat-floor Distance from back-of-front-seats to rear door: 8 feet (plus an inch or two)

Passenger 118" dimensioned drawings (short roof): View attachment P2500HC-118.pdf

--dick

Last edited:

pfflyer