PDA

View Full Version : Ruined Crankshaft

turndriverside
03-20-2013, 06:15 PM
Hey Guys,

Before I begin, I should state that I am a complete newbie when it comes to Sprinters.

Over the weekend, the harmonic balancer came off on my 2006 Sprinter, and ruined the crankshaft, from what my mechanic tells me. Is there any hope of replacing just the crank shaft alone, or would I be better off getting a rebuilt engine?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Sebastian

autostaretx
03-20-2013, 09:28 PM
The quickest and best answer is to call Dr Andy Bittenbinder at 412-366-6165 (near Pittsburgh)
He'll be able to give you the best advice on the choices available to you...

good luck
--dick

lindenengineering
03-20-2013, 11:15 PM
Hey Guys,

Before I begin, I should state that I am a complete newbie when it comes to Sprinters.

Over the weekend, the harmonic balancer came off on my 2006 Sprinter, and ruined the crankshaft, from what my mechanic tells me. Is there any hope of replacing just the crank shaft alone, or would I be better off getting a rebuilt engine?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Sebastian

Sebastian
assuming the rest of the engine is good there is no reason why you shouldn't replace the crank including bearings in isolation simply by inverting the engine and following the approriate proceedures.

I have done it many times on various engines including the Sprinter.
Just leaves me to ponder how did the front pulley AND the harmonic balancer centre bit all fall off!
I have come across the outer element ring coming adrift a few times so that it sounds like Santa Clause is a coming to town, but the whole lot!:thinking:
The crank bolt is torqued up to something about 220lbft then a further 1/4 turn to take it to stretch. It has to go some to fall off!
Makes me grunt when winding it up in the frame!
Dennis

talkinghorse43
03-21-2013, 01:39 AM
Just leaves me to ponder how did the front pulley AND the harmonic balancer centre bit all fall off!