PDA

View Full Version : factory roof top AC unit


chrispsprint
01-21-2013, 07:42 PM
Hello helpful people, I have an 04 passenger van 2500. it has a roof top AC unit. It only runs when the engine is on and it doesn't provide heat (On this, I am pretty sure.) I would like to know if it's possible to rig this thing to work on shore power.
Also, I have seen with some roof top systems (duo therm models) that you are able to add a heat strip so the ac unit provides heat. is this possible with the factory unit?
Does anybody know the dimensions of the hole in the roof If i were to remove the unit?
thanks in advance!

chrispsprint
11-24-2013, 03:45 PM
anyone?

bc339
11-24-2013, 04:20 PM
This topic has come up a few times over the years.

Is it possible? Probably, but how much are you willing to spend?

Here are a few posts:

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=813&highlight=rear+shore+power

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1178&highlight=rear+shore+power

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26080&highlight=rear+shore+power

Bruce