Sprinter Tools for DIY Mechanics.

detroitdevo

Helo All,

I have just ordered my new Sprinter 2500 Standard with the required "Michigan" options for cold weather. I own and operate a technology consulting firm for 11 years now and I am getting the Sprinter to outfit it as a mobile office/workshop. I have spent hours and hours on this forum educating myself with all things Sprinter and this forum really helped my choose the options in my custom order. Prior to finishing school and starting my own business I was a heavy equipment mechanic with Caterpillar here in the Midwest and I am no stranger to tearing down an machine to it's tracks and rebuilding it. So performing most of my own work goes unsaid.

So as a new Sprinter owner (when order arrives) I will be doing a great deal of the normal maintenance myself so I want to equip myself with the tools needed to get the job done. I have read all about the DAD and other scan tools here as well as seen many photos of the dash mounted LED read outs as well. So my question to all is what do I need to maintain my vehicle and to gather information when there is a failure. What tools will work with my new 2012 Van and any useful tips are appreciated. If you want to point me to other threads and I will read up that's fine as well. I don't want to clog the forum but after many hours of reading I just know enough to be dangerous, so now I am reaching out.

jdcaples

Not Suitable w/220v Gen
I really don’t think you should buy a bunch of tools that you might never use, but will have to store. The actual number of tools needed for maintenance is maybe a dozen? A set of anything just isn’t necessary if you’re only working on the Sprinter.

Scan tool: Skip this for now. DAD doesn’t work on anything after model year 2006 in the US.