Help changing gear box oil on sprintshift

Kuba8

Hi guys,
I am a real DIY noob but have so far managed to service my 413 cdi sprintshift myself with the help of this forum.

Ive been advised that I should change the oil in my sprintshift gearbox since its done 300,000km without a change. Trouble is that I have no idea where to start. Ive purchase the correct spec oil from a MB dealership (2L for AU$100:censored:) and had a look at maxextc's how to guide on changing gearbox oil on a manual sprinter..

https://sprinter-source.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7205&highlight=gearbox+oil

I'm still a little lost:idunno:.

In maxextc's guide it says "To change the gearbox oil "manual transmission" first locate the filler bolt 1st pic "top left side" then the drain bolt 2nd pic"bottom beside cross member" remember to clean around the filler bolt so as not to get any dirt "crap" in there."

Where is the filler bolt on the left in the first pic im having trouble locating it and is it located in the same place for a sprintshift?

How much oil should I use?

Anything else I should lookout for when doing this job?

Thanks in advance

Jakub

Altered Sprinter

Happy Little Vegemite
Sorry I thought Eric would drop in on this one. You need a pump for the refill top left hand side and drain the bottom plug have a look for metal on the thread, Like Max's hairy old goat.
you have enough fluid so that;'s not an issue unless you want the exacting amounts?,,I think sprintshift takes a tad more than manual, but not sure unless I check tomorrow.
Richard

Kuba8

Cheers Richard

II'll try to do it on the weekend once I get my hands on a pump, Does 1.8 lt sound right?

mean_in_green

>2,000,000m in MB vans
I understand there is a filler bung "behind" the hydraulic valve block on the right hand side of the Sprintshift transmission (viewed from front of vehicle). Some disassembly is required to gain access to it.

Oldfartt

Hi Jakub,
This copied from a previous post I made.