PDA

View Full Version : Minor issue - Scanguage II Installation


psalm66
03-26-2011, 09:59 PM
Installed the new Scanguage II and it works fine. Only problem is that the 16 pin connector that fits into the OBD2 port in the fuse box underneath the dash to the left of the (USA) steering wheel is too big to allow the fuse box cover to be reinstalled and closed on my 2010 NCV3. :frown:
See picture:
31566
For now I have the OBD2 cover hanging straight down and the fuse box cover is in a kitchen drawer in the van. Suggestions? Thanks.

slowstride
03-26-2011, 10:51 PM
The back of the van's OBDII plug slides sideways, and allows the plug to be removed from it's holder. I had some blank switches, so I popped one out, feed the cable into the dash and across to the fuse box. Once you have disconnected the OBDII plug from it's holder, you can pull the plug up and into the fuse box cavity, and plug your scangauge in, and close the fuse box door. The joined plugs seem to be quite happy floating around behind the dash, in the fuse box area. This was my solution....

Chandlerazman
03-26-2011, 11:53 PM
On mine, I had to unscrew the OBDII connector and let it loose under the cover. No issues even when visiting the dealer on a monthly basis :smilewink:

Here's what I did on my dash to guide the wire away and out of sight... I also siliconed (Clear) the scangauge on the bottom to allow for steering column adjustment.





http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z229/Chandlerazman/Scangauge.jpg

huggybeardive
03-27-2011, 01:24 PM
Ordered mine Scangauge today, but not sure where to install. I don't like idea reaching to it through steering wheel. Any suggestions? Thanks!!!:thumbup:

sailquik
03-27-2011, 02:01 PM
I've installed my Scan Gauge II in both the '06 T1N 3500 and
my 2010 NCV3 on the top of the dash just inside the left "A" pillar.
It puts it high enough I can glance at it without looking down (keeping
my eyes on the road at all times).
The velcro strip that comes with the SGII does a very nice job of holding
it in place.
The cable can be tucked in the flap on the door seal so it's out of the way.
Coil the excess cable and tie wrap it a couple of times.
Tie wrap the coil to the harness above the emergency brake handle.
The little plastic door on the NCV3 (in the photo the OP posted) comes off
and I will take a hot knife and cut clearance for the OBD plug in the plastic
door.
Roger

autostaretx
03-27-2011, 02:54 PM
I ran a strip of broad Velcro fore-to-aft, centered on the hump of the instrument panel.
Then a strip on the underside of the ScanGauge.
The fore-to-aft lets me adjust it for a useful "tilt" to avoid reflections
It's reachable above the steering wheel, but only visually obscures the wiper trough.

--dick

psalm66
03-28-2011, 11:38 AM
<The back of the van's OBDII plug slides sideways, and allows the plug to be removed from it's holder. - Slowstride>
Wow - I had no idea - thanks! I'll check that out in another day of two. I want to be able to close the fuse box door to keep the dust down.

<I don't like idea reaching to it through steering wheel. Any suggestions? - huggybeardive>
I instaled mine like Chandlerazman (and autostaretx) did except I just used the velcro that came with the Guage. However, I offset the gauge to the right (rather than centering it) and simply reach around the steering wheel with my right hand to make adjustments when required. Never reach through the steering wheel when driving! :hmmm:

Chandlerazman - I used your picture as the model for how to install my Gauge, including drilling a hole in the plastic pop-out blank plastic switch cover. I believe I previously saw that same picture in another thread on the forum. Thanks! :cheers:

NBB
03-28-2011, 03:20 PM
I ohmed out the connector and spliced into the wires above. The only thing is that the Scangage will need to be disconnected at the display in order to connect a scan tool. It's pretty clean.

I also bought a http://www.blendmount.com/products.html for both the gauge and my radar detector. The caveat here is that I had to go to a glass shop to have my old rear view mirror removed. They did it fast and for free. A new mirror was $18 and much better than original. The OEM Sprinter mirror is not compatible with the blendmounts - although it probably wouldn't be too difficult to make it work anyway.

kmessinger
03-30-2011, 08:10 PM
I did it this way, left side of dash. I have my GPS also there above the scan guage.
http://www.ourexcellentadventures.com/2008/07/26/mounting-the-scan-gauge/

israndy
03-30-2011, 08:18 PM
I continue to be surprised that no one else on this board has gotten the UltraGauge

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm

I think it does everything the ScanGauge does, but MUCH cheaper.

http://newbeetle.org/forums/attachments/technical-modifications/74254d1283969174-ultra-gauge-com-edp9080003.jpg

And it mounts easily in a Sprinter (not a photo of mine, found on the web)

-Randy

kmessinger
03-30-2011, 09:00 PM
At the time I got my Scanguage, I don't think it was cheaper - Spring 2008 but that was a long time ago for my memory. Also, the way I wanted to mount it, I needed the cable to detach from the body of the instrument. Definitely looks nicer than a scanguage!

suzieque
03-31-2011, 01:30 AM
I continue to be surprised that no one else on this board has gotten the UltraGauge

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm

I think it does everything the ScanGauge does, but MUCH cheaper.


I have a dashhawk, but I think I may just buy an ultragauge too cause the screen looks nicer.

The ultragauge doesn't seem to do "Transmission Temperature", "Turbo Boost", "Current Gear", "Target Gear", I also like "Intake Air Temperature" as well as datalogging on my Dashhawk.
Regardless, I may buy one for my car. :)

geoffs
04-19-2011, 11:59 AM
I continue to be surprised that no one else on this board has gotten the UltraGauge

http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/index.htm

I think it does everything the ScanGauge does, but MUCH cheaper.

And it mounts easily in a Sprinter (not a photo of mine, found on the web)

-Randy

I looked at this before getting the ScanGauge but the UltraGauge does not support metric units, only MPG/MPH etc.

psalm66
04-19-2011, 12:26 PM
<<I also bought a http://www.blendmount.com/products.html for both the gauge and my radar detector. The caveat here is that I had to go to a glass shop to have my old rear view mirror removed. They did it fast and for free. A new mirror was $18 and much better than original. The OEM Sprinter mirror is not compatible with the blendmounts - although it probably wouldn't be too difficult to make it work anyway.>>

NBB - very interesting idea! Hadn't known that this type of set up was available. Richard might cringe with the use of aftermarket non-original perfect MB parts! :lol:How do you attach/hide the connecting wire that goes to the OBD2 connector where it comes out of the top of the mirror and hoes across the front windshield?

<<I did it this way, left side of dash. I have my GPS also there above the scan guage.
http://www.ourexcellentadventures.co...he-scan-gauge/ (http://www.ourexcellentadventures.com/2008/07/26/mounting-the-scan-gauge/)>>

kmessinger - you must be left handed. I also like your location but I'm right handed and would have to reach across the steering wheel while driving to push a button on the left side ...

Altered Sprinter
04-19-2011, 12:35 PM
<<I also bought a http://www.blendmount.com/products.html for both the gauge and my radar detector. The caveat here is that I had to go to a glass shop to have my old rear view mirror removed. They did it fast and for free. A new mirror was $18 and much better than original. The OEM Sprinter mirror is not compatible with the blendmounts - although it probably wouldn't be too difficult to make it work anyway.>>

NBB - very interesting idea! Hadn't known that this type of set up was available. Richard might cringe with the use of aftermarket non-original perfect MB parts! :lol:How do you attach/hide the connecting wire that goes to the OBD2 connector where it comes out of the top of the mirror and hoes across the front windshield?

<<I did it this way, left side of dash. I have my GPS also there above the scan guage.
http://www.ourexcellentadventures.co...he-scan-gauge/ (http://www.ourexcellentadventures.com/2008/07/26/mounting-the-scan-gauge/)>>

kmessinger - you must be left handed. I also like your location but I'm right handed and would have to reach across the steering wheel while driving to push a button on the left side ... wireless :professor:

NBB
04-19-2011, 03:42 PM
At that particular time, I had my left pillar removed (easy) and the entire head liner removed as well. I routed my wire right along with all the other wires in the area. If you just remove the pillar cover, you can tuck the wire under the headliner w/o removing it. Threading the wire down from the pillar is pretty easy - lots of open space there. Overall, not very difficult. I might have purchased a longer network cable from the computer store - can't recall if the one that came with it was long enough. I preserved the original cable with the OBDII connector - didn't use it. Standard crimp splices from Home Depot or somesuch. Took me about 5-10 mins to ohm out the connectors and identify which wires to splice into. Overall, it's pretty clean.

gottahavabenz
04-21-2011, 04:04 PM
I am definitely thinking having one of these for my 04 Sprinter would be very useful, but I can't figure out which one. The ultra is much cheaper but I don't normally think cheaper is better but it seems to have everything I want. Anyone else have the ultra and willing to give it reviews?

I have a DAD for troubleshooting I only want real time data.

huggybeardive
04-24-2011, 12:52 PM
I bought Scangauge to keep track of my MPG's. Also keeping track on the paper. After first 10000 miles I did compare Scangauge to paper and what a difference. On the paper I'm getting 19.4MPG and Gauge do only 18.5MPG. Did a test on long stretch of straight road. Did 200miles with average 19.6MPG then stop for gas, turn off engine and did another 200 miles same direction(counting in wind) same speed and had only 16.9MPG. Don't now why so much different. Same road, same time, same everything and 2G less! Anybody had same experience?

Aqua Puttana
04-24-2011, 01:20 PM
I bought Scangauge to keep track of my MPG's. Also keeping track on the paper. After first 10000 miles I did compare Scangauge to paper and what a difference. On the paper I'm getting 19.4MPG and Gauge do only 18.5MPG. Did a test on long stretch of straight road. Did 200miles with average 19.6MPG then stop for gas, turn off engine and did another 200 miles same direction(counting in wind) same speed and had only 16.9MPG. Don't now why so much different. Same road, same time, same everything and 2G less! Anybody had same experience?
200 miles means you probably filled 10 gallons or so. With that quantity the difference in "full" can be a factor. Pump safety kick off sensitivity is often different so pump handles kick off at different times. Even the level seen in the fuel neck can differ depending upon how the fuel glugs. I find I can add almost a full 2 extra gallons by rocking the Sprinter, refueling, and rocking the Sprinter until you hear the glug noise. I'm not recommending that method, it's just an observation. The amount of fuel added affects the calculations more with small quantities. Just some food for thought. vic

sailquik
04-24-2011, 01:32 PM
Huggybeardive,
You probably need to set the Scan Gauge II "scaling factor".
If you crunch the numbers from your "paper/fillup" mileage against
what the SGII is giving you, then enter that number as an "offset"
in the Scan Gauge II you can get the reading to be within a few perecntage
points.
Also, do you have "LOD" set as one of your 4 readouts?
The "LOD" readout can very quickly give you information on how much
of your engine's available power you are using.
If < 55% you are getting good mileage.
If 55-60% you aren't getting the best mileage possible... try downshifting
to 4th gear and see if your mileage improves (< 65 mph please).
If 60-70% your engine is working a bit and you mileage is going to suffer.
If 70-80% you are working your Sprinter pretty hard, and if you keep on
lugging along at this much LOD, there could be issues. Try slowing down 5 mph
or downshifting to 4th gear. (< 65 mph). You may be using 25%-50% more fuel than
necessary.
If your SGII LOD reading is >85% for more than a couple of minutes, you may
be looking at a LHM incident due to a blown turbo resonator (04-06 Sprinters only)
..... a blown turbo hose (all Sprinters)... EGR issues (all Sprinters).... DPF issues
('07 and later NCV3 V6 Sprinters.
A combination of slowing down slightly, and manually downshifting can save you
alot of fuel, and perhaps some repair/towing bills.
Hope this helps,
Roger

72chevy4x4
04-24-2011, 08:28 PM
wow-~$70 shipped after a rebate-sounds pretty inexpensive to me! has anyone else used one? is it 'buggy'?

Graphite Dave
04-24-2011, 09:29 PM
Another method of mounting Scan Gage. Cut hole for cable in plastic just forward of the cup holder indentation. Made some wood blocks to use to mount an aluminum plate that has velcro on it. Weight of cable was pulling on cable so I added a clamp to cable.

suzieque
04-27-2011, 03:24 AM
for you guys with the Scanguage, what parameters do you use it to display?

Graphite Dave
04-27-2011, 03:44 AM
Upper left: LOD
Upper right: MAP
Lower left: water temperature
Lower right: voltage

MAP is the least useful since it changes rapidly and does not seem to be related to anything.
LOD tells you when to shift to a lower gear.
Water temperature gives you peace of mind.
Voltage changes when lights are on and probably will tell you if you have the wire connection problem.

MillionMileSprinter
04-27-2011, 03:58 AM
MPG
Average MPG
LOD
fWT

Hey, I've been meaning to ask you guys- I have TWO (2) water temp functions on my Scanguage. One is called WTR and the other one is a small "f" with WT after it.
Which one comes stock?
The reason I asked is because I used it in my VW Eurovan and got a schematic from the Eurovan list to program it to read my tranny temps and a "more accurate" water temp. The tranny temp guage does NOT work with my Sprinter, but both water temp functions work, and I can't remember which one I programmed in and which one came with the Scanguage.

Also, if anyone is interested in or knows what they are doing, I can put you in touch with a guy from the Eurovan list who was kind enough to email me when i asked him about programming in a Sprinter Tranny temp function. His email quickly got way over my head, and he was the one who provided the online instructions on how to program the Scanguage to read the Eurovan Tranny Temps.

ECU
04-27-2011, 04:20 AM
The water temp with a lower case f is the preporgrammed one.
I do
LOD
MPG
AMG Average MPG for the Trip.
TFM Today's fuel Mileage.
So I see how I'm driving by the moment, trip and daily average.
With this I have discovered that the day's fuel mileage is directly related to how fast I can get the engine warm. I use the espar heater even in weather up in to the 50s. It shuts off by it self when the truck gets to temp, so I don't lose anything. Ups my daily fuel average from 19 to 21.5.

suzieque
04-27-2011, 10:43 PM
ok, so engine load (LOD), engine coolant temperature, average fuel economy and realtime fuel economy.

My dashhawk has problem with fuel ecomony calcs on my crd jeep.

I've ordered an ultra guage, going to try it out and let you guys know how it works.

israndy
04-29-2011, 03:26 AM
ok, so engine load (LOD), engine coolant temperature, average fuel economy and realtime fuel economy.

My dashhawk has problem with fuel ecomony calcs on my crd jeep.

I've ordered an ultra guage, going to try it out and let you guys know how it works.

I am so happy I won't be the only Sprinter hooked to an Ultra Gauge

The Ultra Gauge does have a multiplier that needs to calibrated before the MPG will read more than 10. I have mine set to .350

To set it drive some and then go into the calibrate menu and it will tell you how many .gallons you have used at 1:1 calibration, just down arrow to tell it you have used less, or gotten more MPG. When you stop it will show you the multiplier you have set by choosing the number of .gallons selected. You can do the math on a calculator to get it to .350, but it will pause at .500, just accept and then calibrate again to keep going down. That was quite confusing the first time I tried to calibrate it. At .350 I show a little more MPG than I get on the highway and a little less than I get on surface streets. I have been thinking of going to .375 but I am collecting stats to see if that will be closer.

-Randy

ps. My new Sprinter with my new Ultra Gauge has occasionally been connected when the Sprinter won't start. Voltage says there is only 3v in the battery, but some random time later it's back to 12v, I started unhooking the OBD connector which is REALLY hard, bring a flat blade and look at the connector so you know where to pry. Now it's been fine for months, so perhaps it was not the Ultra Gauge.

showkey
04-29-2011, 01:04 PM
ps. My new Sprinter with my new Ultra Gauge has occasionally been connected when the Sprinter won't start. Voltage says there is only 3v in the battery, but some random time later it's back to 12v, I started unhooking the OBD connector which is REALLY hard, bring a flat blade and look at the connector so you know where to pry. Now it's been fine for months, so perhaps it was not the Ultra Gauge.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Dirty or loose battery connection ????????? somewhare in the system at battery, starter or fuse boxes would be first place to look

Graphite Dave
04-30-2011, 11:12 PM
Does anyone know where the scan gage voltage is measured? Would it be after the splice between the battery and alternator/starter? What I want to know is if the scan gage voltage reading will tell me if the splice is starting to corrode. Will it drop if the connection starts to fail?

icarus
05-01-2011, 12:06 AM
Displaying MAP is one of the most important gauges to use. It gives a really good idea of turbo out put, and ergo, trouble. When the MAP drops below 16 psi, you know you. Have a problem. I also displays coolant temp and mpg info.

Icarus

showkey
05-02-2011, 01:02 PM
Does anyone know where the scan gage voltage is measured? Would it be after the splice between the battery and alternator/starter? What I want to know is if the scan gage voltage reading will tell me if the splice is starting to corrode. Will it drop if the connection starts to fail?


In the 16 pin DLC (data link connector) pin 16 is the 12 volt power source. Pin 16 is fed power through fuse #2 (10 amp) in fuse block 1.

Fuse block one is fed power from fuse #5 (150 amp) in the power distribution center that is connected to the battery.

Not 100 % sure where splice is in relationship to the power distribution center but from the wiring diagrams the splice or connection of the starter and alternator appears to be at the starter connection. The power distribution center is up stream of the starter connection, the starter is connected to the power distribution center.

suzieque
06-27-2011, 06:14 PM
I am so happy I won't be the only Sprinter hooked to an Ultra Gauge


I hooked up the ultragauge and played around a bit to see what it would display.

Now, I have a Jeep, not a Sprinter, so what I see may differ from a Sprinter owner.

The Ultraguage displays standard things like rpm, speed, fuel capacity, coolant temperature, ambient air temperature, engine error codes, and voltage. It has some other standard items that I didn't care about including alarms you can set if something like coolant temperature exceeds a threshold, I was looking for things unique to the diesel engine. The items I saw that seemed useful were:
- DPF temperature, this is useful if you want to watch exhaust temperatures
- Diesel fuel pressure

The instantaneous fuel economy is not correct for me, it seems better than the Dashhawk (instantaneous fuel economy on the Dashhawk is completely out to lunch for me). Perhaps israndy got this feature to work on his Sprinter with the Ultraguage. I really wanted the instantaneouse feature to work for me. Oh well.

I was disappointed to NOT see a number of features that are on my Dashhawk:
- Turbo boost pressure
- Transmission Temperature
- Current gear / Target gear

The display on the ultraguage is very nice, clear easy to read. On the downside, to change screens you have to feel around behind the display to change it, whereas the Dashhawk buttons are easily accessible on the front. Also, the screen flickers as it refreshes every couple seconds. The Dashhawk does not flicker, it updates seemingly instantaneously.

At $50 the Ultraguage is worth it if you have nothing else, I will put it in my car and leave the Dashhawk in my Jeep.

Lots of youtube videos of the Ultraguage if you want to see it.

brassarl
06-27-2011, 11:29 PM
Displaying MAP is one of the most important gauges to use. It gives a really good idea of turbo out put, and ergo, trouble. When the MAP drops below 16 psi, you know you. Have a problem. I also displays coolant temp and mpg info.

Icarus

Do you look at battery voltage on your scangauge while driving, seems mine is pretty consistent with 13.7 or 13.8 volts. That looks good to me, just wondering what yours might be... understanding that these gauges are not calibrated to each other.