PDA

View Full Version : Bounce at 60 MPH

NealH
02-18-2011, 07:39 PM
I am new to Sprinter and this Forum. My company purchased a 2010 Freightliner Sprinter 3500 with a 15' box on the back 2 months ago. Everything with the vehicle operates smoothly until you reach 55 - 60 MPH. At this speed, the front end of the truck begins to bounce. It feels as if there is an unbalanced wheel. It is rhythmic and definitely not a result of road conditions. After 1 week and confirmation by several drivers that the truck has an issue it was returned to the dealer. Over the course of 4 weeks they replaced the driveshaft, swapped all 4 wheels & tires and had multiple discussions with Morgan-Olson who constructs the boxes. When they returned the vihicle it was immediately obvious that the problem presists. Interestingly enough, this afternoon I drove a 2011 Mercedes Sprinter identical to ours and it has the same issue at the same speed. I know many Sprinters are vans but has anything else experienced this with a box truck? Any ideas?:hmmm:

showkey
02-18-2011, 10:39 PM
Does the bounce get worse or better at faster speeds say 70 MPH?

By bounce I suspect you mean chassis movement up and down?

Does the steering wheel vibrate or shimmy?

mackconsult
02-18-2011, 10:56 PM
sounds like a resonance thing .....

autostaretx
02-18-2011, 11:13 PM
If you were near Portland Oregon, you could take it to Upscale Auto (a.k.a. SprinterStore) for their analysis.
See this thread (plus others) http://sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9706

You could test some of the "resonance" theory by putting a significant load (1000 or more pounds) at the front (driver's end) of the box to see if shifting the percentage of weight to the front axle helped.

good luck
--dick

NealH
02-19-2011, 12:10 PM
Does the bounce get worse or better at faster speeds say 70 MPH?

If the truck is driven over 65 it seems to fade away.

By bounce I suspect you mean chassis movement up and down?