PDA

View Full Version : Glow Plug Replaced and Modual Modified


teamtexas
10-18-2010, 01:58 AM
After reading a number of great posts, here on the forum, I've managed to get #3 glow plug out and changed and modified my glow plug modual with external 20 amp fuses.
27252
Here is a pic of the wire removed from the plug. I used a length of #12 wire with an inline 20amp fuse to check each glow plug and to determine which were bad. After I unplugged the wire harness from the glow plug modual, I connected the test wire to each of the plugs on the harness and jumped them to the battery to energise the glow plug and test. Number 3 was the only one that popped the fuse.
27253
I picked up the new plug from europarts for about $18.50 plus shipping. I heated up the engine to about 180 degree and used a 10mm deep socket with an extension to remove the plug. A swivel would have been useful, but I don't have one for the 1/4" drive set. I used a long pair of bent needle nose pliers to remove the wire harness. I had to use a mirror to see the plug and the connection :frown:

teamtexas
10-18-2010, 02:03 AM
I pulled the drivers headlight and the grill off to access the glow plug modual.
27254
I used a razor knife to cut the seal and then a small screwdriver to remove the loose rubber.
27255
27256
After seal was gone I pryed the sides out and pulled the relay from its case.
27257
27258
#3 fuse link was blown.

Dan

teamtexas
10-18-2010, 02:09 AM
I used a 1/2" fostner bit to drill a hole in the plastic housing to allow the wires to come through.
27259
27260
Then I installed a rubber grommet.
27261
27262
I installed a #12 black wire to the buss just past the bottom of the relay and a #14 red wire to each of the fuse links. Each wire was soldered into place. I clipped the remaining good fuse links and routed all of them through the external fuse block.
27263
I added enough wire to bring the fuse block out of the relay area.

Dan

teamtexas
10-18-2010, 02:13 AM
I reinstalled the glow plug relay.
27264
And I mounted the new fuse block under the battery on the inner side wall. I used a 20 amp fuse for each glow plug and this style fuse has a red led that lights if the fuse blows. Very easy to see.
27265

Gave it a test drive and all is good. The glow plug light only was on for the normal warm up prior to starting and life is good once again. :cheers:

Dan

kkanuck
11-08-2010, 10:58 AM
If I have a faulty glow plug relay currently with respect to one of the fusible links, if I do this mod, can I fix that and do this upgrade at the same time with external fuses, or is my relay toast, and I need to do this with a new one if a fusible link is damaged due to a bad glow plug?


Thanks,


Tibor

teamtexas
11-08-2010, 11:24 AM
If I have a faulty glow plug relay currently with respect to one of the fusible links, if I do this mod, can I fix that and do this upgrade at the same time with external fuses, or is my relay toast, and I need to do this with a new one if a fusible link is damaged due to a bad glow plug?
Yes, by doing this mod you can use a relay that has a blown fuse link. The one shown here had a blown link and is working great now. By the way, the minimum order qty on the fuse block I used was 2, if you need one the extra one if for sale for $5 plus a couple buck to ship.

Dan

kkanuck
11-08-2010, 11:51 AM
Thanks....



RE: bad glow plug too? Any issues removing? Engine warm and she came right out?


Best,


Tibor

mean_in_green
11-08-2010, 12:10 PM
Engine warm and everything crossed!

teamtexas
11-08-2010, 01:29 PM
Yes, bad glow plug too. No issue removing, engine was a 180 degree. Only issue was trying to see the plug and getting a tool on it at the proper angle. Pratice all of that before you get the engine up to temp, so it doesn't cool off while you search for the right stuff.

Dan

Scott_Mc
11-08-2010, 02:02 PM
...By the way, the minimum order qty on the fuse block I used was 2, if you need one the extra one if for sale for $5 plus a couple buck to ship.

Dan
Dan, nice pics and write up! I first saw this from surlyoldbill...great mod!
On the module, if it's not spoken for, I'll take it.

teamtexas
11-08-2010, 02:34 PM
Scott,
All the credit for the mod difintely goes to surlyoldbill. That is where I got the info to be able to do this! :cheers:

I just sold the fuse block, but I have another one that uses the mini fuse instead of the full size Ato/Atc fuse. If you would like it, send me a pm with your email address and I will send you an invoice via paypal. $5 plus $2.50 shipping.
27889
Waytekwire.com #46091

Dan

Scott_Mc
11-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Thanks Dan, cheap enough and the specs say (http://order.waytekwire.com/46090-46093.pdf) it's rated for 120A total:hmmm: I think the standard fuse size would be better though?

The one you used isn't the Waytek #46081 is it?

maxextz
11-08-2010, 10:08 PM
fantastic stuff dan well done and thanks.that's a great mod.:clapping:

teamtexas
11-08-2010, 10:10 PM
The one you used isn't the Waytek #46081 is it?
The one I used is the #46071.

Dan

Scott_Mc
11-08-2010, 11:20 PM
..The one you used isn't the Waytek #46081 is it?

The one I used is the #46071.

Dan

That one, the Waytek 46071 (http://order.waytekwire.com/46070-46073.pdf) is rated at 45 amps max for the block...for intermittent use though, you'll likely be fine:hmmm:?

Aqua Puttana
11-08-2010, 11:49 PM
FWIW. The glow plug short duty cycle is your friend, not to mention the low ambient when it is actually energized. I believe I noticed that the glow plug feed wires are 14 gauge. Small for house wiring protected at the glow plug amperage/load, good for the intended purpose. As a practical matter it'll be fine. vic
That one, the Waytek 46071 (http://order.waytekwire.com/46070-46073.pdf) is rated at 45 amps max for the block...for intermittent use though, you'll likely be fine:hmmm:?

mendonsy
11-09-2010, 01:52 AM
The current ratings for automotive 12vdc are significantly different than 110vac. Here's a link to a table that I often use:
12 volt wire gauge amps (http://www.offroaders.com/tech/12-volt-wire-gauge-amps.htm):professor:

Scott_Mc
11-09-2010, 01:10 PM
FWIW. The glow plug short duty cycle is your friend, not to mention the low ambient when it is actually energized... Yes, very true.


The current ratings for automotive 12vdc are significantly different than 110vac. Here's a link to a table that I often use:
12 volt wire gauge amps (http://www.offroaders.com/tech/12-volt-wire-gauge-amps.htm):professor:
I think the word "allowable" or "acceptable" or "safe" should come before the term "current ratings". That is a nice table, although it makes no reference to the wire insulation type (better insulation, higher ampacity) but it does show how wire length is key. If you look in the NEC (National Electrical Code) you'll see that 14 and 12 are rated higher than you are allowed to fuse them at. No "code" for cars.

I looked at a number of similar blocks yesterday. The alleged current ratings are questionable in my opinion. For starters, the mini fuse block (Waytek #46091 from post 11) being rated at 120 amps? Like to see that in action:smilewink:....I do not know how these are determined though.

My opinion:2cents: is that the block Dan used is on the light side..BUT maybe not for his location. IF he's made good, clean, solid connections (connections/terminations are the weakest link in any circuit) , again, likely fine. The job in pictures looks good :thumbup: !!

kkanuck
11-09-2010, 08:48 PM
What is the best method to remove the glow plug wire harness wire lead from the top of the Glow Plug to be able to remove it for changing?

I have 68K miles, and have a glow plug code, so I am thinking I will take the plunge and attempt to replace all 5 glow plugs with new Bosch ones.


I tried to remove the wire lead off of one, but seemed to be real hesitant to let go....I read through many GP posts but could not find any addressing this issue...


Any suggestions without having to buy an expensive MB tool?


Cheers

teamtexas
11-09-2010, 10:59 PM
What is the best method to remove the glow plug wire harness wire lead from the top of the Glow Plug to be able to remove it for changing?

I used a long bent pair of needle nose to grab the wire end and remove it. It was not easy!

Dan

kkanuck
11-09-2010, 11:56 PM
I used a long bent pair of needle nose to grab the wire end and remove it. It was not easy!

Dan

I don't have a bent pair of needle nose, but maybe should get one....

Did you just pull straight up at you from the hole, or do you have to jam a mini flat screw driver in the top of the wire connector where I see 2 small rectangular holes on the top?

I am not sure it there is some sort of locking on the tip when the wire connector goes over the top of the Glow Plug, or just push on, pull off ?

I am worried about snapping the brittle plug having not removed one as of yet...

teamtexas
11-10-2010, 01:23 AM
I pulled pretty much staight up (at the angle of the plug)to disconnect.

Dan

djaroast
12-12-2012, 09:40 PM
I reinstalled the glow plug relay.
27264
And I mounted the new fuse block under the battery on the inner side wall. I used a 20 amp fuse for each glow plug and this style fuse has a red led that lights if the fuse blows. Very easy to see.
27265

Gave it a test drive and all is good. The glow plug light only was on for the normal warm up prior to starting and life is good once again. :cheers:

Dan

I performed this mod to my 06 and the glow plug light is on for a normal time but this cold morning it seemed that it had none of them working and started real hard:censored:I then tested the fuse block for voltage this eve after work with engine cold and it seemed to have no power. Is there some thing else that runs the relay that could be bad? I reafed on all mt solder joints to make sure of good connection when doing the mod......the only thing I wonder about is that their was 6 links in the relay so I relocated all of them not knowing which one was the rite one to leave?????

mendonsy
12-12-2012, 11:47 PM
The glow plug module has a constant 12 volts from the 125 amp fuse #5 in the main fuse block on the battery.
The internal relay is switched by the ECM when you turn on the ignition. There will not be any power to the fuses unless the module is energized by the ECM.

One call a/c
12-05-2014, 08:07 PM
http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/0e646d1ab146ae17f7c6b194a7501941.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/79b1b54cdb855e3b220b493194b46523.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/df1791865c274aba0fbc7efd6e1736cf.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/f23d4c1efec8893fb302663173506d26.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/537c85fb6e60788c1e5e204a0ca6d4c7.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

One call a/c
12-05-2014, 08:08 PM
The mod works great.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dodger413
12-05-2014, 09:13 PM
ok then.............

can anyone explain, expand on what we're looking at ? what was modified ? are the fuses, fuse block the new modification ?

where abouts is this glow plug relay located ?

thank you very much for the pics, details, BUT i still don't understand how i would go about the modification.

One call a/c
12-05-2014, 09:16 PM
All the info is at the beginning of this thread. Location, steps , ect


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cousi
04-09-2016, 11:22 PM
They replaced the head under warranty on my '05 in 2008 because two glow plugs were bad and
they broke off while trying to get them out. Wonder if there was an update back then or the same
old thing?
If everything is working is there anything I should do to help next time?

Mike

VanGuy6678
04-12-2016, 01:02 PM
http://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/0e646d1ab146ae17f7c6b194a7501941.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/79b1b54cdb855e3b220b493194b46523.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/df1791865c274aba0fbc7efd6e1736cf.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/f23d4c1efec8893fb302663173506d26.jpghttp://tapatalk.imageshack.com/v2/14/12/05/537c85fb6e60788c1e5e204a0ca6d4c7.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



@ One Call a/c: what's the make & model # of the fuse block you used? And what year vehicle? Thx!

One call a/c
04-15-2016, 12:14 AM
Sorry. Just. Seen this. I bought the fuse block at autozone. And it's a 2006.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk