PDA

View Full Version : Click-click sound no start on inserting ignition key

TonyF
09-05-2010, 01:33 PM
Yesterday, on inserting the key into the ignition key slot, got a click-click sound only. The key would not turn to start ignition. I repeated to insert the key several times with the same result. I turned on the headlights and checked them. They seemed normal. I was ready to open the hood when I tried one more time and did not get the click-click but normal ignition . I continued to start successfully several times yesterday and this morning. Does anyone have idea what might have happened here?

HarryN
09-06-2010, 03:26 PM
I am not sure about on Sprinters, but on other cars, I would guess either the battery is getting old or the solenoid to engage the starter is failing. I am not a mechanic, just a home hack.

Most modern cars have the solenoid built into the starter, so it is a swap of the starter sort of deal.

The battery might have enough power to run the lights, but not enough to drive the starter. This can be checked at most mechanic shops with a battery load test, although I have had a battery pass the load test unit, and was not sufficient to ensure repeatable starts in a car.

Let us know what it turns out to be.

autostaretx
09-06-2010, 07:17 PM
Another possibility is a bad engine-to-frame ground cable (or connection).
That would allow the headlights to work properly, but would prevent adequate current for the starter to turn.

good luck
--dick

TonyF
09-07-2010, 08:32 PM