PDA

View Full Version : Radio info NCV3


ctmcdaniel
06-12-2007, 08:48 PM
Cruthfield has no info on the 2007 sprinter.

Anyone know what fits in the factory space?

I ordered mine with:
RA9 (radio prep)
XA9(rear camera prep)
RDK (GSM, GPS, UMTS network antenna)

Don't know if I will ever use the last two but when my uber soccer mom van shows up, I want to have a head unit waiting.

Thanks

Tom

nocky
06-13-2007, 01:44 AM
try this link http://www.crutchfield.com/S-tkLH57rr3Ei/cgi-bin/ProdGroup.asp?g=300&cm_re=leftnav*spg266150*pg300
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-24NUCyCpimA/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?wm=fp&I=500CDE9852&g=300

Dewey
06-13-2007, 01:56 AM
Yes, any DIN-sized radio will fit.
Is there a kit to fit a DIN and take out the factory CD radio?

kendall69
06-13-2007, 02:31 AM
While were at it....what's a great radio. Man there are so many to select from, it's hard to select a great radio.

BMA
06-13-2007, 03:06 AM
Cruthfield has no info on the 2007 sprinter.

Anyone know what fits in the factory space?

I ordered mine with:
RA9 (radio prep)
XA9(rear camera prep)
RDK (GSM, GPS, UMTS network antenna)

Don't know if I will ever use the last two but when my uber soccer mom van shows up, I want to have a head unit waiting.

Thanks

Tom

There is a post on this site with a link to the sprinter manual. It has all the wiring diagrams and connectors. Do a search on "sprinter manual". I don't know how much the 2006 and befores differ from the 2007 and beyonds.

- Bryan

ctmcdaniel
06-13-2007, 12:22 PM
Here are 2 UK sites with a double din faschia covers and wiring adapters for NCV3

www.clarionworld.co.uk/install/show_model.asp?id=162 (http://www.clarionworld.co.uk/install/show_model.asp?id=162)
http://www.nexxia.co.uk/Car_Stereo_fitting_kits/mercedes-benz.htm

Tom

lespaint2
06-22-2007, 05:43 AM
http://www.nexxia.co.uk/Car_Stereo_fitting_kits/mercedes-benz.htm I just ordered this kit from them. Can I use double din touch screen system with this facia kit?

lespaint2
06-28-2007, 01:19 PM
Pioneer Avic D-3 inside new Sprinter
2353

ctmcdaniel
06-28-2007, 02:52 PM
Nice...

is this install yours?

Can we have some more pic's?

Was the install painless?

Do you like the unit?

Tom

lespaint2
06-28-2007, 09:08 PM
No, sadly, this one isn't mine.
I found this one on a British Pioneer site.
I'm planning on installing a Pioneer Z-3, that's why I ordered a double DIN trim.
:bounce:

lespaint2
06-28-2007, 09:18 PM
2363
Sorry, I ment Z-2

ctmcdaniel
06-30-2007, 09:31 PM
The lower cubby hole in the center stack looks likes it could accept a head unit.

2399

2382

Centre console

http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/images/img9250e412351f151443cd2245ef516276_1_--_--_JPG72.jpg Function
Page
http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0031.png
Stowage compartment
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1CCE3.html#N1CF3A)
http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0032.png
Radio or COMAND, see separate Operating Instructions

http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0033.png
Heating control panel
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1822D.html#N183EA)

Control panel for the air-conditioning system
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1822D.html#N18A9D)
http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0034.png
Centre console switch unit
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N113CA.html#N113E3)
http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0035.png
• Stowage compartment or


• CD changer, see separate operating instructions or


• Tachograph, see separate operating instructions

http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0036.png
Cup holder with
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1CCE3.html#N1D2AF)

• Ashtray
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1CCE3.html#N1CD25)

• Cigarette lighter
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1CCE3.html#N1CDEF)
http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/resources/font_symbols/mbsymb5/mbsymb5_0037.png
12 V socket
more (http://www4.mercedes-benz.com/e/vans/sprinter/betriebsanleitung/vertiefen/N1CCE3.html#N1D38B)


Sooooo...Can this space hold a radio?

Tom

ctmcdaniel
06-30-2007, 09:41 PM
Random Dash shots NCV3 High roof, showing the radio mounting and cup holders

2383

2384

2385

2386

2387

This is part of the boom box, or it's the dual rear springs that come standard on the waggons

tab380
07-08-2007, 04:17 AM
I just installed a Alpine IVA-W205 2 DIN Multimedia on my 07 Sprinter. Installer had no info on a kit ( ths U.S. has no stuff for the new Sprinter yet,)so he made a plastic frame to fill in the gap.
Thanks to you I just ordered the kit form the Clarion site. Any info on a kit to get the steering wheel controls to work on the Alpine? The Installer could not get any U.S. kit to work. He said it goes through the computer and cant be wired direct.

lespaint2
07-08-2007, 04:31 AM
Pictures please:bow:

lespaint2
07-08-2007, 04:46 AM
Here is another double din fascia http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/6804.html

sikwan
07-08-2007, 01:19 PM
Thanks Tom for posting the pictures.

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2399&d=1183259966
I can't really tell by the picture, but the cubby hole (red arrow) looks like it's narrower than the oem radio above it. Wouldn't the current radio be a DIN size (or a double-din with that cubby hole below it)?

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2386&d=1183239515
Looks like the 07+'s have the sun screens that can swivel. And by the picture it looks like a shelf above it.

tab380
07-09-2007, 02:55 AM
Pictures please:bow:

Cant figure out how to post photos. I browes but cant find them.

ctmcdaniel
07-09-2007, 02:58 AM
On the quick reply box go the radio button on the bottom right "go advanced" when that comes up look at the header for the "how to post pictures"

good luck

Tom

sikwan
07-09-2007, 03:54 AM
Cant figure out how to post photos. I browes but cant find them.

Also, go to the picture section and there's a sticky up top...

http://www.sprinter-source.com/forum/showthread.php?t=467

tab380
07-11-2007, 02:51 AM
I downloaded the photos of radio install but dont see them. Do they show up right away or take a day?

sikwan
07-11-2007, 04:34 AM
I downloaded the photos of radio install but dont see them. Do they show up right away or take a day?

It's instant.

tab380
07-11-2007, 04:12 PM
I'll try again tonight.

tab380
07-20-2007, 08:22 PM
Does any buddy know if there is a way to get the steering wheel controls to work on a aftermarket radio?:thinking: :idunno:

sikwan
07-21-2007, 02:03 AM
It's certainly possible. I've tapped into a Jeep Wrangler's cruise control steering wheel switch to run an electronic throttle controller.

2561

Hopefully it's just simple switches (open/close). If it's anything like the Jeep's where the buttons are arrange around a voltage divider network, then you'll have to use an ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) to decipher the signals.

Caveat: On the Jeep, once the buttons are diverted to the throttle controller, the oem cruise control is disabled until you turn the Jeep Off/On. I'm not sure if this is the case with the Sprinter, but it's certainly something to look out for.

Then you have to go tap into the switches in the stereo. Certainly doable and it'll be a slick system if you can get it to work.

My deck has a remote control. I never thought I would use a remote control when the radio is just an arms length away, but it's the best thing since slice bread. :smirk:

tab380
08-04-2007, 08:58 PM
2886
This is the Alpine IVA-W205 AM, FM, XM, TV, CD, DVD, GPS Navigation & Back up camera.
They could not get the Steering wheel controls to work though.

2887
My laptop and printer for work. It gets internet with a cell card.

Homemade Bob
08-05-2007, 12:28 AM
Can you use this unit to view a backup cam? TIA Homemade Bob

Homemade Bob
08-05-2007, 12:29 AM
Sorry, just reread your post..........evidently yes to the backup cam!!

ctmcdaniel
08-14-2007, 02:19 AM
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-AwDZbF2Glg3/cgi-bin/autoinfo/autoinfo.asp?lp=

I want crutchfield to research the NCV3 sprinter because I am lazy and I love their easy to use adapter kits.

If you have a moment then click the above link and fill in the form. It is only asking for Year, model, make and comments.

Thanks

Tom

ctmcdaniel
08-20-2007, 12:02 AM
3270

This is a 2007 NCV3 Radio... does anyone have any pics and measurements on how big the space for the radio is?

I'm trying to find out the size and shape of the cavity where the factory radio inserts. It looks much bigger then a double din. I'm playing trying to find a GPS/HD Radio/Ipod/Backup camera/USB device. So far the Alpine IVA-W205 looks like the best match.

Tab380 how do you like your Alpine IVA-W205? How did they implement the GPS? Did it cost more then a Jet Ski?

I could install a car PC too... It looks like you could put in a really touch big screen in that space.

Does anyone have a factory NCV3 radio for sale? I ordered mine with radio prep only and need a temporary head unit.

Tom

tab380
08-20-2007, 01:06 AM
The Alpine IVA-W205 uses a Blackbird PDM-B200 Portable Navigation devices that slides inside a slot over the dvd-cd slot behind the screen. The IVA-W205 was $799.00 and the Blackbird is $750.00 and can be used as a Portable away from head unit.

Dewey
08-20-2007, 03:02 AM
Tom,

Here is my DIY din radio install. If you have a jig-saw and can cut MDF, it's not that hard. You can buy the radio you want and skip the factory unit.

Part 1:
http://www.bestsharing.com/files/PAB960322344/2007DodgeSprinterRadioandVideoInstallPt1.mhtml.htm l

Part 2:
http://www.bestsharing.com/files/JZxaJ8322345/2007DodgeSprinterRadioandVideoInstallPt2.mhtml.htm l

Good luck!

Edit: Oops, I guess you want double-din. At least you can see how big a regular DIN looks compared to stock. Stock radio face is much wider, even though the radio itself is DIN-sized.

allroader
11-10-2007, 04:08 PM
Did you get your double DIN trim and does it fit? I'm planning a Pioneer install as well.

blakej59
11-11-2007, 12:19 PM
Has anyone hooked up a sub to the factory radio? I have the radio/CD in a 144" cargo. Needs a sub in addition to the dash and door speakers.