2004 sprinter black smokes when acceletation

chuck Sand

There is no sluggish from engine just black smoke, changed egr recently this one is buzzing when it running never had other one doing this,, changed turbor resonator no help. Put on machine and Mechanic said the turbo stayed 14.5 should be 23 so would this be low fuel pressure? if pressure would be low would the fuel pressure cause it to smoke? I would think it would be excessive fuel pressure, any help on this greatly appreciated. What would you suggest that the problem would be????
Chuck

Last edited:

I'm with Jon... I'm not an expert, but since no one's answered your specific questions:

changed egr recently this one is buzzing when it running never had other one doing this
What were the symptoms before changing the EGR? Why was the EGR changed? Have you been experiencing LHM Limp Home Mode from the beginning?

changed turboator no help.
I'm sorry to not understand. Was the turbocharger changed? Was the turbo resonator changed?

Put on machine and Mechanic said the turbo stayed 14.5 should be 23 so would this be low fuel pressure?
What machine was used? A dealer DRBIII Sprinter specific machine? Some other scan machine? Many of the scan machines do not see all the information that is there.

Some levels of LHM limp home mode will limit output pressure from the turbocharger. A clogged fuel filter can also limit power and mimic LHM symptoms.

There is some information about LHM here:
https://sprinter-source.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7173

if pressure would be low would the fuel pressure cause it to smoke?