Sprinter-Forum    
 

Go Back   Sprinter-Forum > General Forums > Sprinter Talk

Sprinter Talk General discussion about anything and everything about Sprinters.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 05:35 PM   #1
Import Auto Works
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default Glow plugs amp load test

I used to test VW rabbit diesel glow plugs with an inline (Series) 100 amp meter. If the meter showed 40 amps, then 4 glow plugs were good.

Why does one have to replace a glow plug controller if a glow plug fails? Is it because it fails to ground and burns it out?

If one etsts the glow plugs with an in line series load meter, isnt that pretty much gonna tell you that the controller and glow plugs are working?

A VW glow plug relay costs pennies on the dollar compared to the MB and serves the same function.

Wouldnt a 60 amp inline fuse save the controller???

How many amps does a glow plug take???
Import Auto Works is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:07 PM   #2
Aqua Puttana
Poly - Thread Finder
 
Aqua Puttana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Falls of Niagara, USA
Posts: 10,376
Thanks: 4,239
Thanked 4,381 Times in 2,914 Posts
Default Re: Glow plugs amp load test

Quote:
Originally Posted by Import Auto Works View Post
I used to test VW rabbit diesel glow plugs with an inline (Series) 100 amp meter. If the meter showed 40 amps, then 4 glow plugs were good.

Why does one have to replace a glow plug controller if a glow plug fails? Is it because it fails to ground and burns it out? No. It has internal fuses.

If one etsts the glow plugs with an in line series load meter, isnt that pretty much gonna tell you that the controller and glow plugs are working? Pretty much.

A VW glow plug relay costs pennies on the dollar compared to the MB and serves the same function. OK?

Wouldnt a 60 amp inline fuse save the controller??? No. The GP's are fused individually. A 125 amp fuse feeds the module.

How many amps does a glow plug take???Approx. 20 amps, probably a hair less A 20 amp fuse works for the GP module DIY fuses, so less than 20 amps.
I did a search from the blue bar above. Read through these links and then come back with questions. Have fun. vic

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/sho...lug+module+mod

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/sho...lug+module+mod

http://sprinter-source.com/forum/sho...lug+module+mod
__________________
NAS (N. American Spec) aka NAFTA 2004 OM647 140 2500 Std Roof >268,000 mi. Paint=Arctic Whitewash, DAD
"My opinion and worth everything you'll never pay for it." is expressly implied.
Keeping me on topic will be as successful as herding cats.
Anyone can hold the helm when the sea is calm. Publilius Syrus
"There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't." HaWiiLuVeR
Some people have 10 years experience, others just 1 year 10 times.

Last edited by Aqua Puttana; 10-09-2012 at 06:27 PM.
Aqua Puttana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:28 PM   #3
Import Auto Works
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Glow plugs amp load test

Thanks enough said....
Import Auto Works is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2006 - 2012, Sprinter-Source.com